Our Lady of the Sacred Heart School was first opened on April 5th 1937 when it was staffed by Sisters of Our Lady of the Sacred Heart from Corinda.
In January 1954, at the invitation of Archbishop Duhig, the Sisters of Mercy took over the administration of the School, whose pupils then included children of post-war migrants. Since then the parish has expanded to include the suburbs of Darra, Jindalee, Forest Lake, Mt. Ommaney, Sinnamon Park, Jamboree Heights, Middle Park, Riverhills, Westlake, Seventeen Mile Rocks, Oxley and Wacol.
To cope with this development Father Carroll worked tirelessly to ensure that a new school was opened in March, 1975 and this school has proved a fine example of modern educational buildings and surrounds.
To complement the Primary School at Darra and to meet the needs of pre-school children in the Parish, a Pre-School was opened at the Jindalee Campus at Yallambee Road, in 1987.
A further addition to this took place, in 1993, with the inclusion of a Kindergarten program at the Pre-School.
In 2003 the school began a Prep Trial under the auspices of Education Queensland.
Today Our Lady of the Sacred Heart School continues on the traditions of the past and offers quality education to children of the Centenary Suburbs.
Schools are places that provide growth to the human spirit. Our school and the people who make up 'our school', are committed to providing a quality educational experience that is consistent with Gospel Values.
The school caters for Prep to Year 6 and has been transformed with modern new buildings.